whose date didn’t show up

Posted: March 30, 2012 in my black coffee

Then you called me out of the blue. I stared the LCD of my cellphone and your name was blinking and so was your picture on it. I was just back from my harsh traveling abroad, so it took me by surprised to finally see your name again on my cell. It was you as I recognize the voice. Sweet, I defined. I don’t know it was about your voice or about the way you called me. And our conversation ranging from our recent activities, life between traveling, journals, exams and thesis which ended up that you’re gonna come down to see me on Sunday. I will call you, you said. I smiled widely, from ear to ear.

When we finally hang up the phone, i still stared the phone for a moment, was it you? are we gonna see each other after what all have done? And from then, Sunday was like a thousand days to go, instead of one and a half day, only. And I barely hide my smile every time I think about you. I buzzed my best friend, telling her how my heart was drumming. I didn’t really think about how it supposed to be, until the D-day, I found myself busy cleaning the room and put everything back in order. Changed the bed sheet, threw out the garbage, put on the fragrance and being satisfied with the result. I didn’t check my cellphone the whole day cause I know you’re kinda nightly owl, which most likely out from your nest after dinner. In the mean time I talked to my 2 best friends and had a joke over it.

Time creeping slowly to 7 PM. And I started prepare myself, a hairdo done and I put a little make up. A light natural loose powder, a thin line of eyeliner, a red lipstick which later I wiped off, I don’t want to look so provoking.  Then I put on my black thin stockings, over my black underwear. I guess it’s okay to look a little bit sexy tonight without showing too much skin. And my decision went to a simple red dress, because red and black never fail. I put on my flat red shoes. I felt good, I looked good. No, I looked amazing instead. And lastly, I sprayed on the perfume, had a last look on a mirror, I smiled to see myself in the mirror. I looked at my wrist watch, it’s 8:30, then continued looking at my cellphone, in case I missed your phone call. It was nothing. Don’t worry, I calmed myself down, you will call later, the night still young. The clock stroke to 9:00. Still nothing on my cell, I turned on the computer, tried to buzz my 2 best friends, one is in the part of the world which is 6 hours earlier from my place, another is 6 hours later. They were nowhere to be found. One must had been sleeping as I checked my watch, it’s already after midnight there, One was out for Sunday shopping, it was only afternoon at her place. I left some offline messages anyway. The panic strucked, I was numb and hold as much as possible my tears to fall down. Don’t cry, I told myself,  remember, your mascara is not a waterproof one. Remember, your date will probably call later and you would not want to be seen with ruined mascara on your face. I sent a few lines of messages to his chat device, he was to be seen online though with “away” icon. No reply. I sent again after 1 hour, again  no reply.

My best friend finally online. Hugging me virtually, saying ” I have read all your messages, I am sorry but I believe you look incredibly amazing tonight”. I do, I replied, tried to smile. And she tried to cheer me up talking about nothing and everything. My smile was vanished. It’s the feeling of being hurt and being stupid at the same time. I gave a glance to my cellphone, once again, it was 12:00, and still no sign of your phone call. And I finally felt my tears fell to my cheeks, slowly and painfully. The mascara went out along with my tears. Then, I told my best friend, “darling, I am going to sleep, surely he will not call, it’s already midnight by the way”. She was silent awhile and said, “go sleep, babe, it’s a pity that he missed your amazing look tonight and to let you know, I will buy you a water proof mascara”. I laughed all my heart out, how sweet my best friend is. And again we hugged each other virtually before I cut out the connection. And went to bed, with all the ruined mascara and the make up. Hurt. Even hurt you more, when you are on your best look to show to your special one, but he doesn’t bother to show up, not also his phone call.

..

another same story from my best friend

Leave a Reply

